Valiant with a successful start to 2021

Valiant with a successful start to 2021

Valiant’s consolidated net profit rose by 1.5% to CHF 26.5 million in first quarter of 2021. The bank is making rapid progress with its geographical expansion.
06/05/2021, 
Medienmitteilung

Valiant is on track with the implementation of its Strategy 2024 and is continuing on its growth trajectory. It achieved consolidated net profit of CHF 26.5 million in the first quarter of 2021, an increase of 1.5% on the year-earlier period. Valiant increased its operating income by 6.4% to CHF 101.6 million and its operating profit by 2.7% to CHF 32.3 million. “Our operating business continues to be very strong,” says CEO Ewald Burgener. “The encouraging results show that our strategy and business model are standing the test.”

Strong interest business
In interest business, Valiant is continuing the encouraging performance of the previous quarters. Net interest income before value adjustments climbed by 3.8% to CHF 83.3 million. Valiant was also able to considerably lower interest expense in the first quarter of 2021. Active asset and liability management and the issuance of covered bonds contributed substantially to this. Valiant has a high-quality and robust loan portfolio. In the first quarter of 2021, value adjustments for credit risk of CHF 3.6 million were recognised. This resulted in net interest income after value adjustments of CHF 79.8 million, marking a very good increase of 5.9% over the same period in the previous year.

Successful investment business – with accolades
Fee and commission income remained stable at CHF 16 million. Valiant’s measures to strengthen its securities and investment business and to hire additional specialists are paying off. It increased commission income from securities trading and investment activities by 1.3% over the same period in the previous year to CHF 11.9 million. In March 2021, Valiant’s strategy fund “Helvétique Dynamisch” won the Refinitiv Lipper Fund Award Switzerland* in the mixed asset CHF category over a three-year period. The award is a clear affirmation of Valiant’s strong investment expertise. Valiant increased net other operating income by 18.4% to CHF 1.8 million.


Total loans and client deposits increased
Total loans increased by 1.5% to CHF 26.3 billion after the first three months of 2021. Client deposits climbed by 2.1% to CHF 21.5 billion. Valiant is continuing to provide its services in a simple and personal manner during the coronavirus pandemic. “I wish to thank our clients for the trust they are placing in Valiant,” says Ewald Burgener.

Expansion on track
Valiant has accelerated its geographic expansion from Lake Geneva to Lake Constance, creating an additional 19.4 FTEs in the first quarter. Valiant is successfully on track with this expansion: since 2017, 43% of the growth in total loans has been derived from the new locations. Despite this expansion, operating expenses in the first quarter of 2021 increased as expected by only 5.8% to CHF 62.8 million. 

Valiant expands its branch network
Valiant is opening a branch in Oerlikon on 31 May 2021 and in Liestal on 21 June. Locations have already been found for the future branches in Bülach, Frauenfeld, Wohlen, Wädenswil, Winterthur, Uster and Pully. Under its expansion strategy, Valiant will be opening a total of 14 additional branches by 2024, creating 170 full-time equivalent jobs, including 140 client relationship advisor positions.

Stable performance expected
Valiant expects its business to remain stable this year. It is able to rely on a strong liquidity and capital base and has a stable business model. Valiant anticipates that its consolidated net profit will remain in line with the previous year in 2021.

 

Documents and information on the quarterly results are available at: valiant.ch/ergebnisse
Images can be downloaded here: valiant.ch/downloads.

Downloads

Contact for Media
We are at the disposal of media representatives for all enquiries:
031 320 96 01
medien@valiant.ch

Valiant startet erfolgreich ins 2021

Valiant startet erfolgreich ins 2021

Valiant steigert den Konzerngewinn im ersten Quartal 2021 um 1,5 Prozent auf 26,5 Millionen Franken. Bei der geographischen Expansion schreitet Valiant zügig voran.
06/05/2021, 
Medienmitteilung

Valiant ist bei der Umsetzung der Strategie 2024 auf Kurs und setzt ihr Wachstum fort. Nach dem ersten Quartal 2021 verzeichnet sie einen Konzerngewinn von 26,5 Mio. Franken. Damit schneidet sie um 1,5 Prozent besser ab als in der Vorjahresperiode. Valiant steigert den Geschäftsertrag um 6,4 Prozent auf 101,6 Mio. Franken. Der Geschäftserfolg liegt bei 32,3 Mio. Franken, was einem Plus von 2,7 Prozent entspricht. «Wir sind operativ weiterhin sehr gut unterwegs», sagt CEO Ewald Burgener. «Die erfreulichen Geschäftszahlen zeigen, dass sich unsere Strategie und unser Geschäftsmodell bewähren.»

Starkes Zinsengeschäft
Im Zinsengeschäft knüpft Valiant an die erfreuliche Entwicklung der vergangenen Quartale an. Den Brutto-Erfolg aus dem Zinsengeschäft erhöht sie um 3,8 Prozent auf 83,3 Mio. Franken. Valiant kann den Zinsaufwand auch im ersten Quartal 2021 deutlich senken. Das aktive Bilanzstrukturmanagement sowie die Emission von Covered Bonds tragen wesentlich dazu bei. Valiant verfügt über ein qualitativ hochstehendes und robustes Kreditportfolio. Valiant hat im ersten Quartal 2021 ausfallrisikobedingte Wertberichtigungen in der Höhe von 3,6 Mio. Franken gebildet. Es resultiert ein Netto-Erfolg aus dem Zinsengeschäft von 79,8 Mio. Franken, den Valiant gegenüber der Vorjahresperiode um sehr gute 5,9 Prozent steigert.

Erfolgreich im Anlagegeschäft – mit Auszeichnung
Der Erfolg aus dem Kommissions- und Dienstleistungsgeschäft bleibt stabil bei 16,0 Mio. Franken. Es zahlt sich aus, dass Valiant das Wertschriften- und Anlagegeschäft stärkt und zusätzliche Spezialistinnen und Spezialisten anstellt. Valiant steigert den Kommissionsertrag aus dem Wertschriften- und Anlagegeschäft gegenüber der Vorjahresperiode um 1,3 Prozent auf 11,9 Mio. Franken. Im März 2021 wurde Valiants Strategiefonds «Helvétique Dynamisch» mit dem Refinitiv Lipper Fund Award Switzerland* in der Kategorie Mischfonds Schweizer Franken für die letzten drei Jahre prämiert. Die Auszeichnung verdeutlicht, dass Valiant über eine hohe Anlagekompetenz verfügt. Den übrigen ordentlichen Erfolg steigert Valiant um 18,4 Prozent auf 1,8 Mio. Franken.


Ausleihungen und Kundengelder erhöht
Bei den Kundenausleihungen erzielt Valiant ein Wachstum von 1,5 Prozent und erreicht nach den ersten drei Monaten 2021 ein Volumen von 26,3 Milliarden Franken. Die Kundengelder steigen um 2,1 Prozent auf 21,5 Milliarden Franken. Valiant bietet ihre Dienstleistungen auch während der Corona-Pandemie einfach und persönlich an. «Ich danke unseren Kundinnen und Kunden für das Vertrauen, das sie Valiant schenken», sagt Ewald Burgener.

Expansion auf Kurs
Valiant beschleunigt die geographische Expansion vom Genfersee bis zum Bodensee und hat im ersten Quartal 19,4 zusätzliche Vollzeitstellen geschaffen. Auf ihrem Expansionskurs ist Valiant erfolgreich: Seit 2017 sind 43 Prozent des Wachstums bei den Kundenausleihungen auf die neuen Standorte zurückzuführen. Im Zuge der Expansion steigt der Geschäftsaufwand im ersten Quartal 2021 planmässig um lediglich 5,8 Prozent auf 62,8 Mio. Franken. 

Valiant erweitert ihr Geschäftsstellennetz
Am 31. Mai 2021 eröffnet Valiant die Geschäftsstelle in Zürich-Oerlikon, am 21. Juni die Geschäftsstelle in Liestal. Für die künftigen Geschäftsstellen in Bülach, Frauenfeld, Wohlen, Wädenswil, Winterthur, Uster und Pully hat Valiant bereits Standorte gefunden. Im Rahmen ihrer Expansionsstrategie eröffnet Valiant bis 2024 insgesamt 14 zusätzliche Geschäftsstellen und schafft 170 Vollzeitstellen, davon 140 in der Kundenberatung.

Stabile Entwicklung erwartet
Valiant geht von einer stabilen Geschäftsentwicklung im laufenden Jahr aus. Sie kann sich auf eine starke Liquiditäts- und Kapitalbasis stützen und hat ein stabiles Geschäftsmodell. Für das Jahr 2021 erwartet Valiant einen Konzerngewinn im Rahmen des Vorjahres.

 

Dokumente und Informationen zum Quartalsergebnis sind hier aufgeschaltet: valiant.ch/ergebnisse.
Bilder können hier heruntergeladen werden: valiant.ch/downloads.

Herunterladen

Medienkontakte
Medienschaffenden stehen wir für sämtliche Anfragen gerne zur Verfügung:
031 320 96 01
medien@valiant.ch